Stripe Sellable Course Type

If you are selling your products through Stripe, then not to worry! You can also create an upsell course for this which will be a very similar process to creating a Chargify sellable course.

First, select Create/Edit Courseware from the Super User Dashboard, and then click on “+ New Course”. Click on the “Show Advanced Options” button and then under the “Course Type” drop menu select “Sellable Course”

Under the “What’s Included” section you can include key features that come with your product and in the “Full Description” section is where you have a little more flexibility to play with the different fonts, colors, sizes, etc. You can also add custom html here if you wish.

Make sure to Include a thumbnail/course image (960x540px) and a hero image (1440x300px) as these will also be front facing to users. You can either choose to upload an image file or specify a path from an image that has already been uploaded into your Media Library.

Additionally you can add a preview video – however this part is optional.

Next, in the Ecommerce section, enter the price of the product you are selling and then from the “Purchase Type” drop menu, select “Stripe Product”. Three more input fields should display on the screen – one for the “Stripe ID“, one for the “Stripe Data ID“, and another for the “Location ID“. The Location ID is optional, that is, if you need to move a user into a new location after a purchase is made through a sellable.

From here, open a new tab and navigate back to the Super User Dashboard. From the Super User Dashboard, select “Integration Management“, choose your Stripe account, and edit the Stripe product created specifically for this sellable course type.

Scroll to the bottom where you’ll find the code snippet for the Stripe widget then copy/paste the “Data ID” into the “Stripe Data ID” field and copy/paste the “Widget ID” into the “Stripe ID” field in the previous tab. You can also add additional pricing here by clicking on “+ Add Purchase Button” where it could be the same product only offered at a discounted price, but it isn’t required.

*Note* – Make sure that your product is configured correctly to add the proper content roles that will be assigned and un-assigned after a purchase has been made.

With all sellables, you’ll need to have two content roles setup – One for the unlocked courses (once a user makes a purchase) and one for the locked course (i.e. your sellable course) which will advertise the product in the Training Center.

Here, users will be assigned content role id “87789” which will give them access to the unlocked content and then un-assigned content role id “33433” which will remove the sellable course from their viewing.

Once you’ve completed the Ecommerce section, click on the “Save+Continue” button and that should take you to the “Settings” section – here you can leave the default settings as they are as you don’t need to make any adjustments. Click on “Save+Continue” again – then you can publish and assign the course to any desired content role(s) and location(s) just like you would with any other standard course

Now, all that’s left is to test it out! Things may look slightly different, but below is an example of how that might look in the Training Center:

You’ll notice a blue price tag that appears in the upper left of the course card (this helps to distinguish the sellable courses apart from the standard courses) Click on it, and that should take you to the purchase page which should appear like the following:

Upon clicking on any of the call to action buttons, the Stripe widget will be presented in a pop-up.

Immediately you’ll see that the sellable is working as intended when the user’s name and registered email address auto-populates in the first step of the checkout form. This is the expected behavior for any sellable course type as you don’t want the system to create duplicate accounts for the same user with every purchase.

On Step 2 of the checkout form, it will ask for a credit card and coupon code (if applicable).

Click on “Complete Order” to submit the form which should then display the default success message:

This message can be anything you want it to be. To change this message, go back to the Stripe product settings and enter what you would like displayed under the “Successful Message” field.


By default, end users will be redirected back to the Training Center after a successful purchase, unless you choose to specify otherwise. Under the Stripe product settings in the “After completion redirect URL” field you can enter the redirect URL after an order has been placed.

In this example, we want end users to be redirected to the course itself:


More on how to setup Stripe products can be found here.

For questions or assistance, please contact LSVT Support at support@lightspeedvt.com.

Related Articles