To get started, navigate to the Super User Dashboard and select 106 – Community Management
From there, you can see your existing Communities and also create a new one.
You can create 1 Community per Location, 1 Community for a group of Locations, or one Community for all of your Locations.
And that’s it! So – what are Communities? The Community is meant to be a safe place for users to interact with each other and share their feedback and thoughts in a positive environment. As a Moderator, you can closely monitor and remove abusive material.
Once signed in, Users can get to the Community by clicking this button/icon.
When you first come to the Community, you are on the “Community – Feed” which is a list of all of the recent posts in the Community. You can make a new post, comment, like or react to any other post.
In the top nav, next to your profile name and pic, you can access the following items (these same items are in the left hand nav if you are on a desktop):
- My Activity – this will show only your own posts. This is also where you can update your cover photo.
- My Friends – this will show all of the friends that you have connected with.
- My Photos – this will show only your own photos.
- My Audio and Video – this will show only your own audio and videos.
- My Account Profile – this will show your main (VT) account profile, where you can change your profile pic, your password, etc.
- My Community Preferences – this is where you can specify all of their community display and notification preferences.
How do I change my cover photo?
To change your cover photo, go to the “My Activity” tab, and you will see your full cover photo with a camera icon on the top right. Click this icon to change, modify or reposition your cover photo.
How do I change my profile pic?
Under the drop-down menu next to your name, select the “My Account Profile” section and then scroll down a little – there you will see your placeholder profile picture. You can select from a set of templates, or upload your own profile picture as desired.
How do I change my Privacy and Notification Settings?
To change who can see and interact with your Profile and how you would like to receive Notifications from the Community, select “My Preferences” from the left hand column under the “My Profile” links.
How do Groups work?
Super User B’s (Aka Community Moderators) can create an Open, Closed or Secret user group. This lets your community create and participate within more narrowed group discussions. This is especially useful when your Community is revolving around a general topic.
As an Admin, you will be able to see all groups, no matter if it’s Open, Closed or Secret.
Note: Groups cannot be tied to access level or content role at this time.
How do I report abuse?
On every post in the Community Feed, you will see a “! Report” button, and you can click this, and specify the type of abuse that you feel it is, and this reported item will go to the Community Moderator. Posts that are reported as abuse may be removed by the moderator, and severe abuse may result in the user getting banned from the Community by the moderator.